Starting a photography blog

I’ve always been attracted to images. As a child I used to make drawings and make up stories to go with them; as I grew older and kept practicing, my drawings became better and I kept trying to improve on my skills. I used to love photos and tried to imitate on paper the images that moved me.

Photography was a natural leap from what I was doing and I thought it would be an easy transition; while it’s easy enough to capture any kind of generic image, a truly good photograph is a bit harder to make. It takes a bit of know-how; luckily there’s no shortage of tips, articles, classes and videos that can help.

Stock Photography

In my case, as I began to improve I decided to try Stock Photography. It seemed like a great opportunity to get my photos out there and have them examined by others.

When I started, I was insecure about the photos I was taking and I wanted the critique; Stock photography gave me a chance for that. Every time my photos are rejected I learn a bit more about what to do and how to make better images and when my photos are accepted into their gallery I find myself feeling happy, because I know I did well.

Of course, rejection in a stock site does not mean that an image is bad; their business is driven by sales, so the images they need must have commercial value. Artsy photos have their place in art galleries, but that is not what stock agencies are looking for. That said; Stock agencies are beneficial to many photographers that want their work out there, that maybe need a little money on the side and as a great way to get honest feedback on your work (as in my case).

Beginning to write Blogs

The stock agency I use had the option for writing blogs in their website for a long time; I had seen it, but I had never given it a second thought. One day I got curious and tried it out.

It turns out I enjoyed writing a small article relating to my own photos (if anyone is interested in giving it a look you can find that first article by clicking here)

It was an article about my birthplace Puerto Rico, a tropical island in the Caribbean; it didn’t get a lot of attention, but I enjoyed writing it. So I decided to write a second, and later a third article (I will post those articles later on)

gradient
First Blog I wrote

Writing

While it was fun to write those articles, the tools that I have there are limited; the site is made for selling stock photography not for blogging.

Like photography; as I learned more, I wanted to do more and share more. That is my main reason for starting this blog in WordPress.com. As I keep on learning and refining my blogging skills I hope to bring new and interesting content that people will enjoy to read and share.

So to address the words on the description of this article; what I feel, think and expect as I start to write blogs:

I feel happy and exited to get my words, photos and opinions out there; I also hope to hear from readers and their own experiences and thoughts.

I think it will be an enlightening experience; hopefully I’ll learn much from writing these articles, and hopefully maybe help others in some way to improve their skills or enjoy the images I will be posting.

Finally…

I expect… or maybe I should say hope, that I can bring helpful information and content that people enjoy to read and share.

Will I succeed as a blogger?

I suppose it depends solely on my effort to bring good and interesting content to readers (I will try to have new articles at least once a month). So if you are reading this article and like it; please, comment on it, share it and above all enjoy it.

Thank you

Leave a comment